TEMPLON īi

ABDELKADER BENCHAMMA

CANVAS, January 12, 2024

Finalists for the Marcel Duchamp Prize 2024 Announced



Abdelkader Benchamma. Installation view of Solastalgia: Archaeologies of Loss at The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery, Toronto, 2023. Photography © Toni Hafkenscheid. Image courtesy of the artist and TEMPLON, Paris – Brussels – New York

Abdelkader Benchamma, Gaëlle Choisne, duo Angela Detanico and Rafael Lain and Noémie Goudal have been announced as the four finalists of the Marcel Duchamp Prize 2024.

Endowed with €90,000 and organised in partnership with the Centre Pompidou, the Marcel Duchamp Prize is considered one of the major reference prizes in contemporary art and a primary indicator of the French art scene. It was first conceived in 2000 by the ADIAF (Association for the International Diffusion of French Art) to develop the innovation and visibility of French art around the world.

Claude Bonnin, President of the ADIAF confirmed the four nominees for the 24th edition of the Marcel Duchamp Prize, saying, "After a long and rigorous process that began ten months ago, four artists have been chosen by our selection committee made up of eleven ADIAF collectors. These finalists will be invited by our partner, the Centre Pompidou, to take part in a three-month exhibition, the opening of which is scheduled for 1 October.

Chosen by an international jury of artists, collectors, and institutional directors, the winner will be announced on 14 October and awarded the €35,000 top prize.

Working with black-and-white drawing as his preferred medium, Abdelkader Benchamma creates visual scenarios that question our relationship with reality. Gaëlle Choisne takes up contemporary issues of catastrophe, resource exploitation and the vestiges of colonialism in her installations. Working together since 1996, Angela Detanico and Rafael Lain create pieces rooted in the world of graphic design and communication, whose codes they subtly subvert. Noémie Goudal's poetic photographic work consists of building and integrating ambitious architectural structures of various types (domes, staircases and towers) within untouched landscapes.

Previous winners include Tarik Kiswanson (2023), Mimosa Echard (2022), Kapwani Kiwanga (2020), Kader Attia (2016), Laurent Grasso (2008), Tatiana Trouvé (2007), Mathieu Mercier (2003) and Thomas Hirschhorn (2000).